Agra – The Symbol of Love


Introduction of Agra

Agra is one of the cities of Utter Pradesh (northern state of India). Agra is 206km (kilometers) south of the national capital New Delhi. Agra is also called “Agra symbol of love“. Agra is considered as one of the populous city in Utter Pradesh and 24th most populated city in India. The city features mild winter, hot and dry summers and a monsoon season. However, the monsoon is not quite heavy as compared to other parts of India. Hinduism, Islam, and Jainism are the major religion in Agra city. Agra district has a population of 4,380,793 approximately equal to the nation of Moldova or US state Kentucky.

According to the statistics mentioned by the census in 2011 Hindus are 88.77%, Muslims are 9.30% of the population in Agra district. 52.5% of Agra’s population contains 15-59 years age category. Agra division covers four districts officially; responsibility of this belongs to the divisional commissioner of Agra. District magistrate is kind of assistant to the commissioner who reports every ins and outs of the district to the commissioner.

Municipal Corporations are also headed by a commissioner. The current commissioner is K. Ram Mohan Rao. The district has six tehsils which are headed by sub-magistrate. Agra city comes under the jurisdiction Agra division of north central railway zone of railways. Air India is the only airline which lands at Agra airport.

Taj Mahal History(About Taj Mahal)

The golden age of Agra started with Mughal era. Ancient name of Agra is Akbarabad and it remained capital of Mughal Empire headed by Mughal emperors Akbar, Jahangir and Shah Jahan. Akbar considered Agra as imperial top-level provinces. In 1649, unfortunately, Shah Jahan shifted his capital to Shahjahanabad. Since Akbarabad is one of the cream cities in India headed by Mughals, it was leading Infrastructure hub. Babar, first Mughal emperor, laid out first formal Persian garden on the banks of river Yamuna. Well, Taj Mahal History is Indian famous Love Story. And If you can travel in India Then Must visit in Agra and Once See the Agra Symbol of Love

Taj mahal

Garden was well known as relaxation garden (Aram bagh). Akbar was a grandson of Babar who is the architecture of the great red fort. Akbar made Akbarabad(Agra) place for learning arts, commerce, and religion. Akbar was considered as a very innovative architect because he built a beautiful city in outskirts of Akbarabad which is known as Fatehpur Sikri. This was considered as Mughal military camp. After Akbar, new ruler was Jahangir. He was very fond of flora and fauna and laid many gardens in the red fort or Lal Quilla. The most important and interesting era of Agra started when Shah Jahan became Mughal emporer. He gave Akbarabad very prize less monument ‘Taj Mahal’. Taj Mahal is the seventh wonder of the world.

Shah Jahan showing his great architectural skills, made Taj Mahal seem to be a symbol of love as it was made after his beloved wife Mumtaz. Mausoleum was completed in 1653. Shah Jahan shifted his capital to Delhi but his son Aurangzeb shifted it back to Akbarabad by imprisoning his father in the red fort. After fall of Mughal, Empire Akbarabad was influenced by Marathas and called as Agra. This was a time before Britishers came into the picture. Agra has seen many ups and downs before British Raj. Taj Mahal, The symbol of love is also known as Mumtaz Mahal. Because of Mumtaz is a Queen of the Shah Jahan. And In her memory, Shah Jahan was built Taj Mahal so that’s why Its cold Mumtaz Mahal.

Area: 188.4 km²
Weather: 21°C, Wind NE at 8 km/h, 60% Humidity
Population: 1.586 million (2011)

you can reach Agra by Train or by Road or By Air( Delhi – Varanasi – Agra – Khajuraho – Varanasi – Delhi)

Best places to visit in Agra

1)Agra Fort
2)Fatehpur Sikri
4)Akbar’s Tomb, Sikandra
5)Jamā Masjid
6)Chīnī kā Rauza
7)Rām Bāgh
8)Mariam’s Tomb
9Mehtāb Bāgh
10)Keetham Lake
11)Mughal Heritage Walk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *